Thane District

Thane District

Thane District is a district in Maharashtra state in Western India. According to 2011 Census, it had been the most populously inhabited district within the nation, with 11,060,148 inhabitants. The headquarters of the district is that the City of Thane. Different major cities within the district area are Navi Mumbai, Kalyan-Dombivli, Mira-Bhayander, Bhiwandi, Ulhasnagar, Ambarnath, Badlapur and Shahapur. Thane is the third-most industrial district in Maharashtra after Mumbai and Pune.

Thane is well-connected to places of Mumbai through numerous roads like the Eastern Expressway, JVLR, SCLR, Ghodbunder and Thane – Belapur Road. Nearby cities of Mumbai like Pune and Nasik are also easily reachable from Thane. Thane is an extension of the financial capital of the country – Mumbai.

Thane district is divided into three parts known as coastal zone, hilly track and urban zone. There is highest tribal population in Thane district. Thane district is only one of the districts in the state having planning authorities. Thane district is well known for highest income collection. In Thane district it has 3 Members of Parliament & 18 Members of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. Three national highways and two railways are existent in Thane. Hajimalang, Gorakhgad, Mahuli etc. are the earliest fort in Thane district.

Thane is known as city of lakes. It is additionally called Elder sister of Mumbai (Bombay) as Thane district was divided earlier and a part of Thane district from Mulund to Sion was given to Mumbai for its future development. Thane district is the source of water for Mumbai. Thane holds 5 dams like Upper Vaitarna, Middle Vaitarna, Tansa, Modak Sagar, and Bhatsa that supply water to Central Mumbai, Suburb Mumbai and Thane City.

2 thoughts on “Thane District

  1. Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your web site by chance,
    and I am stunned why this accident didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>